



Defending and Respecting the workers of Hawai'i (503) WORKERS ☎ (503) 967- 5377 ☎ hawaiiworkerscenter@gmail.com ∞ hawaiiworkerscenter.org &

February 3, 2023

Hawaii State Senate Committee on Labor and Technology Senator Sharon Y. Moriwaki, Chair Senator Chris Lee, Vice Chair

RE: STRONG SUPPORT for S.B. 342

Dear Chair Sen. Moriwaki, Vice-Chair Sen. Lee, and Members of the Committee on Labor and Technology:

The Hawaii Workers Center envisions a Hawaii in which all workers are empowered to exercise their right to organize for their social, economic and political well-being. It is a resource of information, education, training and organizing for many of Hawaii's low-wage and immigrant workers.

The Hawaii Workers Center stands in strong support for S.B. 342 relating to paid sick leave.

With nearly 180,000 workers in Hawaii lacking access to paid sick leave, the majority working in the service industry, this bill provides a necessary health and safety net for those that need it the most.

Only 1 in 5 low-income workers currently have access to paid sick leave. When low-income workers are forced to choose between prioritizing their health or providing a paycheck for their family, many will not take an unpaid day off. We saw this during the pandemic as many workers feared suffering the possible side effects of the vaccine and thus delayed getting vaccinated.

In essence, paid sick leave is a health and safety issue as it gives workers time to recover from illness while keeping their co-workers safe. It benefits both employees and employers and should be the basics of worker protection.

The Hawaii Workers Center stands in strong support for S.B. 342 and appreciate the opportunity to testify on its importance for Hawaii's working people.

Sincerely,

Sergio J. Alcubilla Executive Director

Executive Committee of the Board

Rev. Sam Domingo Board Chair

> Mary Ochs Vice President

Dr. Arcelita Imasa Secretary

> John Witeck Treasurer

Board Members

Yoko Liriano

Nanea Lo

Innocenta

Sound-Kikku

Ray Catania

Justin Jansen

Marites Uy

Leyton Torda

Robyn Conboy

Co-Executive Directors

Tony Doroño Sergio Alcubilla III, Esq.