



Defending and Respecting the workers of Hawai'i (503) WORKERS ☎ (503) 967- 5377 ☎ hawaiiworkerscenter@gmail.com ∞ hawaiiworkerscenter.org &

February 13, 2023

Hawaii State Senate Committee on Government Operations Senator Angus L.K. McKelvey, Chair Senator Mike Gabbard, Vice Chair

RE: STRONG SUPPORT of S.B. 814 RELATING TO ELECTRONIC INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ACCESSIBILITY FOR PERSONS WITH LIMITED ENGLISH PROFICIENCY.

Dear Chair Sen. McKelvey, Vice-Chair Sen. Gabbard, and members of the Committee on Government Operations:

The Hawaii Workers Center envisions a Hawaii in which all workers are empowered to exercise their right to organize for their social, economic and political well-being. It is a resource of information, education, training and organizing for Hawaii's low-wage and immigrant workers.

The Hawaii Workers Center stands in strong support of S.B. 814 which requires the Office of Enterprise Technology Services in consultation with the Office of Language Access and a working group composed of stakeholders, to develop and publish, and periodically review and update, electronic information technology multilingual accessibility standards to be implemented by all state entities.

As we are well into the 2020s, access to technology has been the difference maker for many communities. As this pandemic has shown, those that are able to navigate the world online has a clear advantage over those that cannot. From applying to unemployment insurance to getting help to keep their small business afloat, access to technology is key. This bill is a step in the right direction in ensuring digital fairness for all, regardless of the language you speak.

The Hawaii Workers Center strongly urge you to pass S.B. 814 so that all can participate in the digital world that we all must now navigate. Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this very important measure.

Sergio J. Alcubilla Executive Director

Executive Committee of the Board

Rev. Sam Domingo Board Chair

> Mary Ochs Vice President

Dr. Arcelita Imasa Secretary

> John Witeck Treasurer

## **Board Members**

Yoko Liriano

Nanea Lo

Innocenta

Sound-Kikku

Ray Catania

Justin Jansen

Marites Uy

Leyton Torda

Robyn Conboy

Co-Executive Directors

Tony Doroño Sergio Alcubilla III, Esq.